Bike

After hosting many stages of  the Tour de France here, the Louron Valley has become a veritable showcase for those who love their “Petite Reine” (little queen” in French - bicycle) with its mythical climbs of the Cols de Peyresourde, Val Louron-Azet and Aspin and arrival stages that were no less mythical at the 007 Altiport in Peyragudes.

On the roads and on the tracks, everything has been thought of to make the  journey as enjoyable as possible for mountain bikers and road cyclists who love wide open spaces and pushing themselves.

The Louron Valley is a top cycling destination in the world of cycle tourism. It is the 1st destination in the South-West to have been given the accreditation "Area of cycling excellence" in December 2019. Due to this territorial label, the French Cycling Federation recognises the work carried out to promote and enhance our cycling destination.

The essential "Louron Bike and Trail" smartphone application allows you to find the route best suited to you and  your activity (enduro, cross country, cyclo sport). It gives information on each route: description, difficulty, map, photos and elevation profile and works with geolocation

 

 

The valley has developed fun routes for lovers of scooters, rollerblading, skateboarding, BMX, mountain biking or balance bikes (bikes without pedals for 2/4 year olds). There are therefore three Pumptracks (fun course, hilly and banked turns). Two are located on the shores of Génos-Loudenvielle lake and include a special Pumptrack for young children (under 10 years old) which allows the little ones to have fun in complete safety on land more suited to balance bikes and small bikes, while the stronger indulge in tricks and jumps right next door! These areas have very quickly become a paradise for young people, they are open 24 hours a day and are free of charge. The 3rd Pumptrack is located in Peyragudes in front of the restaurant terraces on the Peyresourde side. In addition there are 3 mini mountain bike beginners courses and a mini baby mountain bike course. So, during the summer, there is a really fun recreational area at the foot of the resort. The resort offers lift packages with magic carpet lifts. In Val Louron, in the Lapadé forest, a free of charge play area means you can go mountain biking on suspended bridges between the trees, 4/5 metres above ground in complete safety. It's the same principle as the treetop trails, but on a bike and you cross the rope bridges by pedalling! A first in the Pyrenees!

Vélo

Le passage régulier du Tour de France a fait de la Vallée du Louron une superbe vitrine pour tous les passionnés de la Petite Reine avec des montées mythiques par les Cols de Peyresourde, Val Louron-Azet et Aspin et des arrivées d’étapes non moins mythiques sur l'Altiport 007 à Peyragudes.

Sur les routes et sur les pistes, tout est pensé pour faciliter le parcours des vététistes et des cyclistes sur route amoureux de grands espaces et de dépassement de soi.

La Vallée du Louron constitue une destination de référence dans le milieu du cyclotourisme. C'est la 1ère destination du Grand Sud-ouest à avoir été labellisée "Terre d'excellence cycliste" dès décembre 2019. A travers ce label territorial, la Fédération Française de Cyclisme reconnait le travail mené pour promouvoir et valoriser la destination cyclisme.

L'indispensable application pour smartphone "Louron Bike and Trail" permet de trouver le circuit que l'on souhaite en fonction de son activité (enduro, cross country, cyclo sport). Elle donne des infos sur chaque circuit : descriptif, difficultés, carte, photos et profil altimétrique et permet d'être géolocalisé.

 

La vallée a développé des parcours ludiques pour les amateurs de trottinettes, roller, skate, BMX, VTT ou draisienne (vélo sans pédale pour les 2/4 ans). Ils disposent ainsi de trois Pumptracks (parcours ludique, vallonné et composé de virages relevés). Deux sont situés au bord du Lac de Génos-Loudenvielle dont un Pumptrack spécial jeunes enfants (moins de 10 ans) qui permet aux plus petits de s’amuser en toute sécurité sur un terrain plus adapté aux draisiennes et petits vélos tandis que les plus forts s'adonnent à des figures et des sauts juste à côté !  Ils sont très rapidement devenus le paradis des jeunes, l'accès y étant libre et gratuit. Le 3ème Pumptrack a pris place à Peyragudes devant les terrasses des restaurants versant Peyresourde, complété par 3 mini parcours d'initiation au VTT et un mini parcours VTT baby, c'est un véritable espace ludique qui est désormais proposé en pied de station en été. La station propose des forfaits avec remontées en tapis mécanique.  A Val Louron, dans la foret du Lapadé, un espace ludique en accès libre permet de faire du VTT sur des ponts suspendus entre les arbres à 4/5 mètres de hauteur en toute sécurité. C'est le même principe que l'accro branches, mais sur un vélo et on traverse les ponts de singe en deux coups de pédales ! Une première dans les Pyrénées !